Classic Award For Classic Director

Telugu Film Director K.Viswanath, known for his award-winning classic movies in Telugu such as Sankarabharanam, Sagara Sangamam and Swati Mutyam, had won the Dadasaheb Phalke award for the year 2016 for his exceptional contribution to the film industry.

Dadasaheb Phalke award finally had its place in Viswanath’s awards list. The director has earlier won 5 National Awards, 20 Nandi Awards, and 10 Filmfare Awards including Lifetime Achievement Award. He was awarded Padma Shri in 1992.  His National award-winning movie Swati Mutyam was India's official entry to the Oscar Awards for Best Foreign Film category in 1987.

President Pranab Mukherjee will present this award to K.Viswanath on May 3rd at Vigyan Bhawan in Delhi. He is seventh Telugu person and 48th recipient to receive this award since 1969. The other six Telugu recipients were - Director Narasimha Reddy, Actor Paidi Jairaj, Director L. V. Prasad, Producer B. Nagi Reddy, Actor Akkineni Nageswara Rao and Producer D. Ramanaidu

Director K. Viswanath, who has directed around 50 films since 1965, is famous for depicting simple and common man stories with an underlining social message. Responding to this award announcement, the filmmaker expressed his happiness and said this award had proved that hard work would eventually gets recognized